September 26, 2018
8:00 pm
City of Ekurhuleni
Birchwood Hotel

Created to acknowledge and honour the accomplishments and contributions of South African dance music artists, the Dance Music Awards South African (DMASA) aims to award the hard working, publicly-recognized individuals who are pushing boundaries and driving South Africa’s thriving dance music industry forward.

Winners of the 2018 edition of the official Dance Music Awards South Africa are set to be announed at an honorary ceremony on Wednesday, 26th September at Birchwood Hotel. Following the announcement of the highly anticipated second annual Dance Music Awards South Africa last month, SA fans took to the internet to vote for the favourites over the past three weeks.

Submissions closed at the end of July with the top five nominees in each category finalised. With a final selection that was held entirely online, these Dance Music Awards South Africa were managed as an audience-voted award event dedicated to South African dance music.  Voting will be driven strictly by social media and online interaction via the official website, meaning no “panel” will dictate the nominees. With the fully transparent user voted award process, this gives the public the power to choose the award winners.

The actual awards ‘ceremony’ will also be conducted online, where the winner will be announced in each category. This not only provides fans a chance to interact with artists/DJs around South Africa but also helps those artists/DJs gain recognition and prestige throughout a wider fan base and audience.

Last year’s winner Black Coffee takes the lead with three nominations this year with Best Male DJ, Best International DJ and Best International Producer. Following closely behind are Durban locals Distruction Boyz with two nominations in addition to a track feature. This includes two Best GQOM records – Madness feat Tipcee, the 2017 hit Omunye and a feature in hit track Dladla Mshunqisi in the same category.

‘With a total of 20 great categories this year, the public response has been phenomenal with almost double the number of votes than last year’ says Dance Music Awards South Africa’s rep Kyle Worde. ‘We have already seen a huge increase in social media interaction alone this year. Several of the artists have played a big role in encouraging their fans to vote which adds to their own popularity but also the awards’.


Dance Music Awards South Africa

Voting closes on the 19th September!!

Best Male DJ

Black Coffee


Kyle Cassim

Kyle Watson


Best Female DJ

Lady Sakhe

Dj Buhle

DJ Miz-Dee


Lady Lea

Best Producer



Nuno (SEA)

DJ Prospect

Funky Qla

Best Live Act

Black Motion


DJ Tira

Mi Casa


Best Festival  

Picat’s Italian Elegant Experience

Rock Da Shades

Spring Fiesta



Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)

Londie London – He goes

Khubu feat Ian H – Round n Round

Rabs Vhafuwi feat Zak Leigh – I’ll Be There

Jimmy Nevis – Stay in your lane

Sun-EL Musician – Sonini feat Simmy & Lelo Kamau

Best Male Vocalist of the Year


Apple Gule

Mr Mo


Langa Mavuso

Best Female Vocalist of the Year

Ms Dippy

Londie London


Jackie Queens

Lady Zamar

Best Record Label

House Afrika Records

Just Move Records

Ohyea Muziq

Stay True Sounds

MudPie Records

Compilation of The Year

House Afrika Mzansi House Vol.7

DJ Adee – Son of a Pitch

Stay True Sounds Beat series Vol.1

Das Kapital Presents Overtime Vol. 2

Matters Of House – Glen Lewis

Album of The Year

Dwson – Impulsiv

Da Capo – Indigo Child

Enosoul – In2Deep Volume 4

Sun-El Musician – Africa To The World

Rabs Vhafuwi – 9 Provinces

Remix of The Year

Hans Seance – Elanora (KaySoul Remix)

Cornelius SA feat. Jackie Queens – Feel It Now (Kususa Remix)

Kid Fonque & D-Malice feat Khensy – Tshamiseka (Dwson Remix)

Babes Wodumo – Wololo (Remix) ft. D’Banj

Afro Warriors ft Toshi- Uyankenteza (Fka Mash Glitch Dub)

Best International DJ

Ralf Gum

Lars Behrenroth

Black Coffee



Best International Producer


Lars Behrenroth


Black Coffee


Best Club Night / Night Club

Pisto’s Lounge (Cape Town)

Truth Night Club

And Club


Reset (Cape Town)

Best House Record of the Year

DJ Ganyani feat Nomcebo – Emazulwini

Pierre Johnson – Movin’ on

Dwson – Forbidden (ft. Sio)

Londie London – He Goes

Cornelius SA feat Jackie Queens – Feel It Now

Best Gqom Record of the Year

Da Fresh x Athie – Formation

Distruction Boyz- Madness feat Tipcee

Distruction Boyz – Omunye

Dladla Mshunqisi feat Distruction Boyz & DJ Tira – Pakisha

Babes Wodumo – Ganda Ganda

Best EDM Record of the Year

Cinimin – You & Me feat Amy Jones

Mark Stent ft Basel Grey – On our Knees

Das Kapital & Bart B More – Hit The Club [This Ain’t Bristol]

Dean Fuel – Loving Me Wrong

Cornelius SA feat. Jackie Queens – Feel It Now (Original Mix)

Best Underground Record of the Year

DJ Funky & DJ Lag – 3 Turns

Da Fresh x Athie – Formation

Pierre Johnson & !Sooks – Miles Away

Da Kruk feat Lili K & Gaba Cannal – Magic

Apple Jazz feat Slaga & Idelan – Amadlozi

Best Dance Radio Show Award

Urban Beat – Metro FM

5FM Selective Styles with Kid Fonque

InDasWeTrust – Das Kapital (5FM)

Kyle Cassim – The Kyle Cassim show (5FM)

Da Kruk on #ThePlayersClub (YFM)

The DMASA present an opportunity for music enthusiasts from around South Africa to celebrate their favourite DJs and/or artists by nominating or voting for them as a potential category winner.